At risk of being forgotten…

I really like Salisbury, but my impression of the city after living here for nearly two years now is that it is a town on the decline. Salisbury is an old town with a lot of history, naturally the beautiful gothic cathedral is the major draw to the place. During the summer, tourists have flooded here from all over the world. It’s a busy place during this period, but come the winter things become quieter.

As I have walked around the town doing my street photographs I can’t help but become aware of the shops closing all over the town. Monsoon went some time ago, Strada closed recently as did La Molina (which I blogged about earlier). Shops like Nando’s and H&M have opened up in town recently, but these shops can be found in most towns. My suspicion is that people will bypass Salisbury, unless they live locally, as there is nothing beyond the cathedral to draw them in. So, one morning a few weeks ago, I walked around the place and photographed all the empty shops I could find. I was going to say that happily in the last week or two several shops have opened up in those places. However, they are just existing shops in the town relocating to another area – so now new businesses seems to have actually started, yet

Salisbury does have some really good features about it, it has a small but thriving art community, some nice local shops, and some good intimate music festivals during the summer. There are things going on here, but if you are not careful it is easy to miss them.

My interest in Salisbury is not to document my perception of it’s apparent decline, but to capture the life as it is lived here at this time. It’s just seems to be at the present moment that the town is not going through one of it’s better periods.

Leave a Reply

