London anti-Trump protest

London anti-Trump protest

I have been to the Anti-Trump protest this evening. As I walked over Westminster bridge it was pretty impressive to see how many people had come. I was still someway off Downing Street at this point, but a lot of people had amassed and were continuing to arrive. After another 10 minutes I started to push through the crowd to get closer to number 10 and the public speakers. I got to the cenotaph, but that was as far as I could get. The crowd was so large that I couldn’t really get closer. I could hear people talking to the crowd, but I couldn’t make out what they were saying.

I decided to hang around the area by the cenotaph. I was really impressed by the volume levels and determination of people to make their voice heard. I felt quite proud but also glad that we live in a democracy where we can express our views in such a way.

The diversity of people present was very interesting. There was a mix of young and old, as well as the very young! There was also a lot of diversity like business people and students, as well as the expected and welcomed ethnic diversity.

I stayed in the area for a couple of hours, all the time people kept arriving. When I started to head back, more police arrived on horses and with vehicles blocking the road. They were warning people to enter with care as the location was full to capacity.

Leave a Reply

