One camera, one lens, one film, one month… one project.

Last month, my project was to shoot with Cinestill film. The results were OK, nothing to really write home about. I shot three rolls of film in the end. Two have been scanned, but I still need to finish the third.

This month, I have been shooting with a Nikon F3, a 50mm 1.4 lens and Kodak Ektar. To add a bit of structure, I am giving myself a brief for each month. This month, as I am using colour film, I am focusing on the colour red. I have been very productive so far this month, and had to order more film as I shot through 5 rolls of Ektar in about two weeks. Mind you, it has been a very busy few weeks generally!

Two things I can say is that (1) Kodak Ektar is a great film, the colours are amazing. It’s certainly a film that I intend to keep using on a very regular basis; (2) the Nikon F3 is a lovely camera. I can see why they made them for over 20 years. It was a camera that I always wanted since being a teenager, so it’s nice to finally get my hands on one and shoot with it. The 50mm Nikon AI lens is not a sharp as a 50mm Leica Summilux. But that’s to be expected. However, it does have a lot of character. I really like the look it gives when shot wide open. The bokeh is very nice.

I am intending to publish the work as an e-book at the end of the month. Unlike last month, when I waited until the end, I am processing and scanning as I go along. So, hopefully, something tangible will emerge quicker. However, time for scanning has cut down on time for blogging!

Red chairs, Bournemouth
Leave a Reply

